UN-GO — The Working Title Job (LB-C7)

Final chapter!

 CHAPTER 7 After Math and Equal Logs.

“Not bad, Yuki, Shinjuurou,” Rie admired as she watched the police cruiser pull away, “not bad at all.”

“That was hard core the way you read Izumi her rights like that!” Inga said, “Especially when you told her that she might get an attorney! Hahaha! That was the best part!”

“Honestly, that was a lot more effort than I was expecting her to put up,” Shinjuurou sighed.

“Indeed,” Kazamori agreed, “I was not expecting her to rant like that.”

“Why’d you come here anyways?” Shinjuurou asked.

“It was An’s idea,” Alicia spoke up, making the girl blush slightly.

“I…I just wanted to be on the other side of that conversation,” the Osada girl admitted.

“I don’t think the irony was lost on her,” Shinjuurou said as he put his hands in his pockets. “Not one bit.”

“So what now?” Rie asked.

“Now?” Shinjuurou asked in return, “Now I think we all should go home and rest up… It’s been a long week.”

A long week indeed.

FIVE DAYS LATER…

“We are not naming it Kato,” Kazamori said firmly.

“C’mon!” Inga whined as he held the Toaster Cat to his chest, “But it fits so nicely! KA from Cat and TO from Toaster!”

Also a Green Hornet shout out.

“If that’s the kind of naming logic you want to use for the cat, then I’m not going to let you have a say in naming anything,” Kazamori insisted. “Choose a real name.”

“But Kato is a real name!” Inga insisted, then relented when she kept a firm glare aimed at him, “Alright then, what would YOU name it?”

“Caroline,” Kazamori said simply.

“Okay, nice name, but it made me realize something.”

“And what’s that?”

“Is this toaster cat a boy or a girl toaster cat?”

Kazamori blinked, then replied, “I had not thought about that.”

“Then the obvious answer is-!” Inga said dramatically as he held the cat up into the air, “We must find another Toaster cat and compare their bodies!”

“What if we find a toaster cat of the same gender?” Kazamori asked.

“Then we’ll have to find another?” Inga shrugged. “But if our cat’s a girl, we can call it Caroline, if it’s a boy, we’ll call it Kato!”

“That sounds like a decent compromise,” Kazamori agreed.

And so they went off to find another toaster cat.

And they proceeded to make those two Toaster Cats have sex.

They settled on “Kato”, as per the compromise.

Alicia, having simply constructed a new R.A.I. chassis from existing parts to give herself a new identity as well as to simply not need to repair the damage done to her old body, bowed to Shinjuurou and Rie. “I don’t think I can ever thank you enough for catching my uncle’s killer.” When she stood up, she had to brush the longer, black hair borrowed from Kazamori’s old maintenance rack back over her shoulder.

“It was our pleasure to help out,” Shinjuurou said, then glanced towards the house before them, and the man, Daigo Fukashima, waiting at the door. “Now go on, your new life awaits.”

“And you’re sure they don’t mind that I’m using an R.A.I. body?” Alicia asked.

“No, Daigo and his family know you were a human originally,” Shinjuurou said, “and besides, after the chaos of the last two weeks? I’m pretty sure nobody cares about that silly old ‘data privacy whatchamacallit act’ anymore anyways.”

“And even if they did, the sudden upsurge in normal appliances coming to life has made the government rethink that law in the first place,” Rie added. “I heard they’re doing an update vote tonight.”

“Once again,” Alicia smiled, “thank you.”

“Be sure to give us a call if something comes up,” Shinjuurou said.

“I will!” And with that, Alicia turned towards her new home.

They turned back to the awaiting Taxi, and got in.

Alicia gets her happy ending.

“To the airport, please,” Shinjuurou directed.

“Got it,” The driver accepted the directions.

“You think she’ll be okay here?” Rie asked of Shinjuurou as the Taxi began to lurch forward.

“I’ve got a good feeling about them,” Shinjuurou said, “I bet once the animation wave hits her, the R.A.I. parts will turn into organic pieces, and she’ll have a living body again. That one kid of Fukashima’s looks about her age, too…”

Rie laughed, “You’re actively hoping for miracles now?”

“With you and Kazamori pregnant?” Shinjuurou asked, “We’re going to need as many miracles as we can get for the next nine months.”

“Speaking of,” Rie began, “how do you think my dad will react when we tell him?”

“He’ll probably try to kill me if he doesn’t have cuffs on,” Shinjuurou said, “so if he doesn’t…maybe we should put it off?”

“Yeah…probably should just start off by telling him we’re only just dating for the moment…” Rie shuddered a bit, “but then again, he might just deduce it on the spot.”

Ah, so Rinroku is finally coming home….but what will they tell him?

“Only one way to find out,” Shinjuurou remarked.

They waited in the airport terminal as one of the first flights into Japan after the chaos of the P Versus NP release had settled.

A surprising amount of people emerged from the connection hallway, and among the members of that crowd?

Kaishou, Rinroku, and an Air Marshal along side him.

“Ah, Rie, Shinjuurou,” Rinroku greeted them with a smile, even as he dragged a suitcase behind him, “I’m glad to see you’re both in one piece.”

“Dad,” Rie smiled at him, though made no move to hug him, “welcome back.”

“You missed quite the mystery,” Shinjuurou said.

“So I heard!” Rinroku laughed, “And saw too. That was quite the performance you gave up on that rooftop, Shinjuurou.”

“If I’d known I was on TV like that, I would’ve downplayed it,” Shinjuurou said flatly. “As it is, I’ve been getting a lot more case requests.”

“Ah, the price of fame,” Rinroku lamented, “I bet now you’re starting to wish you remained ‘defeated’, hm?”

“Nah,” Shinjuurou said, “I’d rather be famous and suffering from it than having Izumi out causing havoc along with that Aria-bot that’s still at large.”

And Aranea/Aria is still at large…just in hiding now.

“Fair point,” Rinroku said. “I believe I’ll have my hands full for the foreseeable future. Court hearings, public service sessions, and all without the comforts of home. I’m sorry it had to come to that, Rie,” he said towards his daughter.

“Nah,” who shrugged it off with her already mostly healed shoulders. “Don’t worry about it, Dad, I was going to move out soon enough anyways.”

“Move…out?” Rinroku blinked. “I don’t remember you mentioning that before…”

“Shinjuurou offered me a bed at his place,” Rie said happily, “as a birthday present.”

Both detectives, and even the Air Marshal, got a bit of enjoyment from the look of surprise on the man’s face.

“Oh…no,” he realized suddenly, “I…I left on your birthday. Didn’t I?”

Why, yes. Yes you did.

“That you did,” Rie nodded, placing her hands on her hips and grinning, “though I gotta say, dad, leaving on that trip was the best present you could’ve given me!”

“um…I don’t quite understand?” Rinroku glanced between his daughter and the man whose life he’d once ruined.

You will soon enough.

“Lemme put it this way,” Rie said with a savage grin, “you’re going to have to figure this one out on your own.” And with that, she turned on her heels and began to walk away, “C’mon, Shinjuurou! We’ve got wall paper to pick out!”

“Sounds like a plan to me,” Shinjuurou smirked at Rinroku as he said that, “later, pops! Good luck at the trial!”

“What just happened?” Rinroku asked of the Air Marshal.

“I think you just met your future son-in-law,” The Marshal replied.

Three….two….one…

The look of confusion on Rinroku’s face was replaced by bemusement…and then shock as the words sunk in fully. “…Wait. Rie!” he shouted, “You don’t mean to say…That that wall paper isn’t for your room, is it?!”

His daughter stopped half-way across the terminal and spun on her heels to grin at him before shouting, “TRY TO FIGURE OUT IF IT’S A BOY OR A GIRL!”

“And now that’s our cue to run,” Shinjuurou said as Rinroku’s shocked expression turned into fury.

Run, you two, RUN LIKE THE WIND!

“Yup!” Rie agreed. “That it is!”

And so they ran.

The Air Marshal too.

After all, he couldn’t let the man under observation escape from custody before his trial, now could he?

“YUKI, SHINJUUROU!” Rinroku shouted as he chased after them, “I AM GOING TO KILL YOU!”

Or commit any murders.

That wouldn’t be good for anyone.

But what happens next? That’s another story my friends. Another story entirely.

And with this completed, I’ll leave you with the afterword.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

